Forbes has listed Georgia as one of the worst states in the country for speeding tickets, and for good reason. The state is well-known for its many speed traps, and not just in metropolitan areas. A number of Georgia small towns catch motorists who are travelling through on interstate roads. Particularly if you are caught speeding over 75 mph, you’ll face a very expensive speeding ticket. It takes multiple violations before your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended, but you’re likely to see your insurance rate go up after a single speeding ticket. The bottom line is: be very wary of speeding in Georgia. Stick as close to the speed limit as possible, and stay within 15 mph of the posted limit at the very least.
How much does a Georgia Speeding Ticket Cost?
Fines for speeding tickets in Georgia vary depending on the location and the violation, so there is no set standard. For example, in Albany, you’ll pay the following amounts based on how far above the posted speed limit you’re driving:
- 5-10 mph: $40
- 11-18 mph: $89
- 19-23 mph: $145
- 24-30 mph: $285
- 31-40 mph $425
- 41 or more mph: $495-$1355
Speeding ticket fines can vary significantly around Georgia, so it’s important to find out exactly how much yours is. Most tickets will be between around $150 and $350, but some counties are notorious for more expensive fines. Your speeding ticket should have the fine amount printed on it. Otherwise, there will be a number you can call to find out what the fine is.
The fine amount isn’t necessarily all you’ll pay. If you choose to contest your ticket in court, you’ll pay additional court costs. You’ll also have to pay additional fees if you were caught speeding in a work zone or school zone. If you were also convicted of DUI, you’ll pay an additional surcharge between $300 and $5,000, depending on your blood alcohol level (BAC) and whether or not it is your first offense.
Georgia’s Super Speeder Law
Georgia charges extra fees called “Super Speeder” fines for going above certain speeds: over 74 mph on a 2-lane road or over 85 mph on a state highway. This is an additional $200 fine that must be paid separately from your speeding ticket. If you do not pay the Super Speeder fine within 120 days, your license will be suspended until you pay the fine plus an additional $50 reinstatement fee.
Georgia’s Speeding Ticket Point System
In addition to having to pay fines, you’ll receive points on your driving license as a result of getting a speeding ticket in Georgia. Points are assigned as follows:
- 15-18 mph over the speed limit: 2 points
- 19-23 mph over the speed limit: 3 points
- 24-33 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
- 34 mph or more over the speed limit: 6 points
If you accumulate 15 points within 2 years, your license will be suspended. However, if you are under 21, your license will be suspended if you commit any traffic violation worth 4 or more points (such as speeding by 24 mph or more). If you are under 18, your license will be suspended if you accumulate just 4 points in any 12-month period.
If your license is suspended, you must wait for the suspension period, which will be determined by whether this is your first offense, to end. Then, you can have your license reinstated as soon as you complete a defensive driving course and pay a $200 reinstatement fee.
Whether You Should Contest Your Speeding Ticket
It may be worthwhile to contest your speeding ticket in court. You’ll notice that Georgia doesn’t assign points for speeding violations less than 15 mph over the speeding limit. If you are close to that, you may be able to have the ticket reduced to a ticket for less than 15mph. That way, you won’t receive any points on your driving record. You may also try to reduce your ticket to a non-reporting violation. This means that you still pay a fee, but no charge is entered into your driving history. In this case, your auto insurance won’t see any charges, and your insurance rate shouldn’t go up. If you believe that your speeding ticket was issued in error, you may want to plead not guilty altogether. Particularly if this is the case, you may want to hire an experienced traffic attorney to help you win the case. Keeping the points and charge off your record can save you a lot of money in insurance in the long-term.
Pleading Nolo (you can do this once every 5 years)
If you are over 21, you have the option to plead nolo contendere, or no contest, once every 5 years. When you plead no contest, you essentially admit guilt, but you will not receive points on your driving record. However, a record of the conviction will be put on your driving record, and your insurance company may find out. You may want to save your nolo contendere plea for a more serious issue. This is a good option to discuss with an attorney, who can give you expert advice about your specific case.
Paying Your Speeding Ticket
If you decide to pay your Georgia speeding ticket, you can do so in person, by mail, online, or over the phone. You should not have to pay a third party website or service in order to pay your ticket. You’ll need to send your payment to the specific county court you received the ticket from. Read your ticket to see exactly where you need to send your payment, and make sure that you pay it at least two weeks before your scheduled court date. In most cases, if you decide to pay, you do not need to attend court. Keep in mind, however, that while paying the ticket often seems like the simplest option, it may result in more long-term fees and a permanent note on your driving record.
Prefer professional help?
While a traffic ticket may seem overwhelming, no situation is considered too large or too heavy for a seasoned traffic lawyer. If you’re looking for a lawyer to help you fight your ticket, simply upload it onto our site, include the respective details, and our attorneys will contact you regarding their prices. Choose the one that best meets your budget. The service is free to use, and available throughout the country.